+49 (651) 74490 resa@domstein.de

History

It is said that Trebeta, the son of the Assyrian King Ninus, founded Trier as a settlement around 2050 BC, about 1300 years before the origin of Rome. An inscription on the Red House on the Main Market Square (Hauptmarkt) in Trier, just opposite of the DOMSTEIN, attests to this legend.

Zum Domstein - Trier - Inschrift

Long before Rome, Trier stood one thousand three hundred years. May it persist and enjoy an eternal peace.

Under the name Augusta Treverorum (city of Augustus in the land of the Treverer), the city of Trier was founded by the Romans around 16 BC. It is claiming the title of "oldest city of Germany". Many of the Roman monuments, which are part of the UNESCO World Heritage, are located within close proximity to the DOMSTEIN (see our navigation: TRIER).

In the 1970s we were confronted with this historical context. During construction works in the basement under the Domstein’s historic courtyard, we found an upright column which turned out to be the south-western pillar of the Constantine basilica. This column is proof that one of the most monumental Roman palace facilities in the world has been constructed in Trier.

After this discovery, we instantly stopped the construction work, and further archeological excavations were made. Some of these archeological findings and some replicas can be viewed in our Römerkeller (Roman cellar):

Zum Domstein Trier - Fußboden

This floor has been reconstructed based on excavation findings.

Zum Domstein Trier

Roman round tiles and hypocausts from the heating system of the palace were incorporated under glass cabinets.

vitrine-privat-glas-01

vitrine-privat-glas-02

In den Vitrinen sieht man eine der besten Privatsammlungen von römischem Glas aus der Zeit von 150 bis 350 n. Chr.

IN THESE GLASS CABINETS you can see one of the best private collection of Roman glass from the Period of 150 to 350 AD.

geschirr-01

geschirr-02

geschirr-03

Furthermore, we found a lot of cookware, jugs, food remains in pots, bone fragments, etc.

These findings inspired us to have a closer look at the eating habits of the Romans. During our research, we found the Roman cookbook "De re coquinaria". In earlier times, its recipes were attributed solely to Marcus Gavius Apicius. It is believed today that only some recipes were actually created by him. It is more likely that over time several cookbooks and individual recipes, including the one from Marcus Gavius Apicius, were put together by additional authors and copyists. One of the oldest prints of "De re coquinaria" is dated to the year 1500 in Venice - but historically it is not entirely verified.

This cookbook can be viewed in one of the glass cabinets in our Römerkeller (Roman cellar). For a long time, it was the second most-printed book after the Bible, which shows its significance for European cookbooks throughout the 18th century.

language

  • de
  • en
  • fr

language

  • de
  • en
  • fr

+49 (651) 74490 resa@domstein.de

Wir machen Betriebsferien vom 12.02. bis 26.02 2023.

Historisches

Trebeta, der Sohn des Assyrerkönigs Ninus, soll Trier ca. 2050 v. Chr. als Siedlung gegründet haben, also etwa 1300 Jahre vor der Entstehung Roms. Am Roten Haus am Trierer Hauptmarkt gegenüber dem DOMSTEIN zeugt hiervon folgende Inschrift:

Zum Domstein - Trier - Inschrift

Vor Rom stand Trier tausenddreihundert Jahre. Möge es weiter bestehen und sich eines ewigen Friedens erfreuen.

Die Stadt Trier wurde ca. 16 v. Chr. von den Römern mit dem Namen Augusta Treverorum (Stadt des Augustus im Land der Treverer) gegründet und beansprucht für sich den Titel „Älteste Stadt Deutschlands“. Viele der römischen Baudenkmäler, die zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe zählen, befinden sich in unmittelbarer Nähe des DOMSTEINS (siehe auch in unserer Navigation: TRIER).

In den 1970er Jahren wurden wir im DOMSTEIN mit dieser Geschichte unmittelbar konfrontiert. Bei der Unterkellerung des historischen Innenhofs fanden wir eine aufrecht stehende Säule, die sich als der Süd-West-Pfeiler der konstantinischen Doppelbasilika herausstellte. Diese Säule war der Beweis dafür, dass in Trier eine der gewaltigsten römischen Palastanlagen der Welt gestanden hat.

Nach diesem Fund hatten wir erst einmal Baustopp. Es wurden weitere Sicherungsgrabungen durchgeführt. Einige Funde dieser Grabungen und Repliken können Sie in unserem Römerkeller besichtigen:

Zum Domstein Trier - Fußboden

DER FUSSBODEN WURDE NACH GEFUNDENEN RESTEN REKONSTRUIERT.

Zum Domstein Trier

Unter den Glasvitrinen wurden römische Rundziegel und Hypokausten aus dem Heizungssystem des Palastes eingearbeitet.

vitrine-privat-glas-01

vitrine-privat-glas-02

In den Vitrinen sieht man eine der besten Privatsammlungen von römischem Glas aus der Zeit von 150 bis 350 n. Chr.

In den Vitrinen sieht man eine der besten Privatsammlungen von römischem Glas aus der Zeit von 150 bis 350 n. Chr.

geschirr-01

geschirr-02

geschirr-03

Daneben fanden wir eine Menge Kochgeschirr, Krüge, Speisereste in Töpfen, Knochenreste usw.

Diese Funde spornten uns an, uns mit den Essgewohnheiten der Römer zu beschäftigen. Bei unseren Recherchen stiESSEN wir auf das römische Kochbuch „De re coquinaria“, das in früheren Zeiten dem Marcus Gavius Apicius allein zugesprochen wurde. Heute geht man davon aus, dass Rezepte des Marcus Gavius Apicius nur zum Teil Eingang in dieses Kochbuch gefunden haben. Sehr wahrscheinlich ist, dass im Laufe der Zeit von Kopisten und weiteren Autoren mehrere Kochbücher und Einzelrezepte zusammengeschrieben wurden – darunter auch die von Marcus Gavius Apicius. Einer der ältesten Drucke von „De re coquinaria“ wird auf das Jahr 1500 in Venedig datiert – sicher ist aber auch das nicht.

Dieses Buch können Sie in einer unserer Vitrinen im Römerkeller sehen. Es war lange Zeit das meistgedruckte Buch nach der Bibel, was seine Bedeutung für sämtliche Kochbücher Europas bis hinein ins 18. Jhdt. unterstreicht.